Journal of Philanthropy

About the Journal

The Journal of Philanthropy (JoPH) is published by Islamic Economics Studies and Thoughts Centre. JoPH is one of the few scholarly journals in the field of philanthropy. JoPH welcomes scholarly papers within the conceptual and applied framework from academic scholars, NGO practitioners and industry researchers.


Scope of the Journal

Original research papers may address theoretical or applied problems in a variety of areas, including (but not limited to):

  • Evaluation of policy and structures of philanthropic organizations.
  • Cross sectional studies on motives for altruism.
  • Surveys of modes and ways of philanthropy.
  • Management of organized charities.
  • Establishment, management and administration of crowdfunding.
  • Administration, management and distribution aspects of Zakat.
  • Management and administration of Waqf.
  • Non-profit NGO based Microfinance.
  • Theory and concept of altruism in Shari’ah and mainstream economics.
  • Theory and concept of Crowdfunding and Venture Philanthropy.    


Paper Submissions

Online Platform:

Submission by E-mail

Author Guidelines:

Academic Advisory Board Members

Prof. Dr. Murat Çizakça
INCEIF, Malaysia

Prof. Dr. Rodney Wilson
INCEIF, Malaysia

Prof. Dr. Tariqullah Khan
QFIS, Qatar
Prof. Dr. Toseef Azid
Qaseem University, Kindom of Saudi Arabia

Prof. Dr. Fahim Khan
IMSciences, Pakistan

Prof. Dr. Magda Ismail
INCEIF, Malaysia
Prof. Dr. Salina Hj. Kassim
IIUM, Malaysia

Prof. Dr. A. U. Faruq Ahmad
Universiti Brunei Dar us Salam

Academic Reviewer Committee Members

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Fuadah Johari
USIM, Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Khaleeq uz Zaman
IIUI, Pakistan

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Aun Raza Rizvi    
LUMS, Pakistan

Assistant Prof. Dr. Hafiz Zahid Mahmood    
COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Pakistan

Assistant Prof. Dr. Burhan Saiti    
IIUM, Malaysia

Assistant Prof. Dr. Huma Ayub    
Fatima Jinnah Women University, Pakistan

Dr. Atiq ur Rehman Atiq    
PIDE, Pakistan

Dr. Rifki Ismal    
University of Indonesia, Indonesia

Dr. Anwar Allah Pitchay    
Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia

Dr. Haslindar Ibrahim    
Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia